Reflexology – Confessions of A Former Sceptic

Just occasionally, I have been called an old hippy. For the most part, I’ve been happy to go along with this – as long as it doesn’t impinge too much on my somewhat consumerist lifestyle. However, I have never really given a great deal of credibility to alternative medicine or therapy. However, a very good friend of ours, Kathy Thickpenny, must have some kind of magic in her hands because I have been persuaded in the past to go along to have my Chakra balanced using crystals – and felt that this had somehow benefited me.

This was nothing compared to my reaction to reflexology, though.

Kathy has been training in reflexology and asked Sue and I to be case studies for her. Naturally, I started out quite sceptical that having my feet poked and rubbed would have any effect.

I should explain at this point that my feet have never been my best feature. (I’m not even sure if I HAVE a best feature.) For many years I have had very poor circulation in my feet and this has left them cold and a very strange mottled blue colour. My doctor, the practice nurse and others have all remarked on this, but have never been sufficiently concerned about it to do anything, so I continued along life’s pathway holding on to the assumption that this is how it would always be.

Not so. The very first time that Kathy sat down and gave my feet “the treatment”, the mottling disappeared, they felt warrmer and I slept like a brick that night. I have been back half a dozen times since and the improvement in my circulation has surprised Kathy and me. In fact, Kathy has said several times that she wishes she’d take a photograph of my feet when we started to compare them with how they are now. (Don’t worry, these photos don’t exist, so I won’t inflict them on you.)

I have also been very impressed that Kathy has been able to identify other things that have been either temporarily or permanently ailing in other parts of my body by working on my feet. We have talked about energy flows and the like and I remain sceptical of such explanations, but I have to accept that there’s something in it because it works.

My own experience of this therapy has been during a very stressful time at work. Again, I am convinced that this has helped me to cope with the stress.

If you are anywhere in the Nottingham / Midlands area, you can find out more and contact Kathy vie her website.

Ride Safe
Dave

3 thoughts on “Reflexology – Confessions of A Former Sceptic

  1. Pingback: Mind Body Spirit - Mansfield « Chuffinghog

  2. Notts Top DJ

    All this talk about heat passing between hands is hot air !!

    It’s clear that thin pipe fed through sleeves containing hot condense is whats passing,, as for cosmic kitchen’s i wish someone would send me q cheque for a million quid and slim youngish natural blond…

    Oh well – one can always hope that spiritual things are real – or not

    Like

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Day 16 – Barbara Cartland or a Hippy? « Chuffinghog

Leave a Reply

