SimSig

While I’ve been off work this week, I have been either spending or wasting, depending on your perspective, quite a lot of time on the computer without actually achieving very much. As I said in an earlier post, I am full of good intentions, but can’t quite gather the will to see anything through. Anyway, one of the things that I have been doing isn’t new; it isn’t even anything I’ve just discovered, but it has been a brilliant alternative to daytime TV.

Simsig is a railway signalling simulation that I discovered it a few months back and have found it strangely addictive. It puts the “player” in position of a signaller in a railway power signal box with up to 24 hours of timetable to run in real time, or faster than real-time, if you want this. There are quite a lot of different scenarios set in different parts of the country. I learned Simsig with Westbury, on the Great Western, and have run Didcot, Liverpool Street and a few others, but I keep coming back to Kings Cross.

I have never yet managed to run this at anything faster than real time – and I find myself using the pause feature rather too often just to let myself keep up with the action. In this sim, I am in control of all the trains between Kings Cross, and Biggleswade, with the Royston Branch and the whole of the Hertford Loop. It includes the links to the North London Line,

 I know very little about the history of Simsig, except that it seems to have been the brainchild of a professional signalling engineer or two and appears to me to be very realstic indeed.

If you’re into railways, this is a great and unusual diversion from playing trains on a preserved line.

Ride Safe
Dave

Leave a Reply

