At Last

St Patrick’s Day saw my first ride aboard the Heritage Softail this year.

OK, it was a ride to from Nottingham to Swadlincote to go to and from work, but it was a ride. It was inspired by the fact that yesterday was a warm, sunny spring day and as I drove the now familiar route to work, I found myself wishing that I was on the bike rather than cocooned in the car.

Today, of course, was nowhere near as good. It was dull and overcast all day, but it stayed dry.

The bike got a reaction from most of my work colleagues. Jackie and Alison appeared in car park as soon as I pulled up at about 8am and later in the day, Saira and Chris were both sitting aboard the bike.

I think they were quite impressed.

It took me about the same length of time for the journey, but I think I used slightly less petrol in the bike than in the car. However, a 1440cc engine is always going to be rather a thirsty beast.

I fear that tomorrow I will have to go by car for a couple of reasons. One is that I put a lot of petrol in it on Monday that needs to be used up. (Don’t ask, it’s a long story.) The other is that I have to find my way to a place that I don’t know in the village of Hilton.

Well, this year’s biking has finally started – let’s hope there lots more miles and lots more rides to come.

Ride Safe
Dave

Leave a Reply

