Daily Archives: February 21, 2010

Day 5 – No Biscuits – Easy, Life – Very Difficult

One by one, I expect some of my colleagues to fall off the wagon.  I know that others won’t.  However, as you’ll see from the comments on yesterday’s post, Chris has already fallen by the wayside. But one slip isn’t the end of the world. After I’ve taken the mickey tomorrow at work, I’m sure we’ll be back on track.

I think Sue’s and my weekend has been filled with other things that have been a distraction. In particular, Sue’s mum moved from hospital into residential respite care today. Although I wasn’t there, it is a very stressful time for Sue.

Her mum’s Alzheimer’s seems to be taking away the independent woman who I used to know. It’s heartbreaking to see her frustration coming out as aggression and I was upset to hear that she reduced Sue to tears today. I think she realises somewhere deep down that we are trying to do the best for her, but among her lack of memory and confusion, she often loses sight of this.

 Ride Safe
Dave

