Day 14 – Hospital and Birdseed

A mixed day today. I went to Nottingham City Hospital for the latest in the interminable series of follow-up appointments following my TIA way back last year.

When I go to the Haematology Department, the routine is fairly efficient. First I have a blood test which is processed fairly quickly. Then I wait to see the doctor to discuss the results and be told what to do next with my chemotherapy .

All this usually takes about 45 minutes or so, and that was just about today’s timescale.  Unfortunately, I needed more tablets on this visit, so I had to take my green prescription along to the newly renamed Outpatients’ Pharmacy.

I was told that there would be about a 45 minute wait, so I wandered off for a walk around the hospital corridors in the sure and certain knowledge that I would find a coffee shop. Eventually I did. £1.35 for a latte in a paper cup was only slightly outrageous, but I was fairly stoic about it all. After that coffee and slightly before the allotted 45 minutes, I returned to the Outpatients’ Pharmacy and asked if my prescription was ready. “No, it will be a few more minutes”, I was told.

A further 50 minutes later, my name was called and I staggered out of hospital and went home.

Oh yes, my blood counts are now back in the “normal” range, but as I have knackered bone marrow, I am still on the tablets.

Lunch was delicious home-made mushroom soup, and the evening meal was Sue’s classic stir-fry. However, the pudding was raisins with bird seed. I managed to smuggle about half of my seeds onto Sue’s dish and settled for a few polluted raisins.

But honestly, isn’t having to eat birdseed taking this whole giving up and health thing a bit far?

Ride safe
Dave

Leave a Reply

