Day 22 – A Habit Unformed?

Into my 4th week of giving up and I was delighted to get this message on my Facebook page from work colleague and fellow giver up, Mandi.

“Congratulations to both of us, I think! We are the only ones that haven’t fallen off the wagon (so far) and after 21 days, it should be habitual (apparently).
Keep up the good work!”

Whadda ya mean “so far“!!!????  I’m not going to fail now. My daily declarations here for the last three weeks are helping to keep my resolve as strong as it was on day 1 (so not very strong at all, really!)

But it seems that, according to Mandi’s theory,  my lifelong devotion to biscuits, cakes, chocolate and sweets is over.  Setting aside the health issues, does this now mean that I’m now beyond the temptation of comestibles? Or do I have to remain as much on my guard as ever?

Will I, one spring day in the year 2027, shuffle my Zimmer frame into a community centre where a circle of chairs will be set out? Will I have to introduce myself in the time-honoured form:

“I’m Dave and I’m a chocoholic. I’ve been abstemious for seventeen years since I last had a McVities Chocolate Digestive biscuit, in March 2010.”

On the other hand, can I just about remember that three weeks ago, I originally put a time limit on giving up, with the expectation that normal service could be resumed after Easter?

I know what Sue will say, she will want me to continue to stay on the wagon indefinitely. I’m not sure whether I’ll be up for that, but I do know that something inside me has changed and I quite like that feeling.

Anyway, and apropos of nothing, as they say in literary circles.  Like all bloggers, whenever I look at my stats I wish that more people had come to read the blog. These stats don’t count people who find this as a note on Facebook or on one of the blog search sites. 

Anyway, I suppose I should be grateful to you for taking the time to read this wherever you have found it online.

Ride Safe
Dave

3 thoughts on “Day 22 – A Habit Unformed?

  1. Jaymie

    Hi dave

    I’ve started to read it via facebook it’s very amusing.

    As for the no biscuits, I think more people at work shoul do the same, that’s why I taped theno biscuits sign to the biscuit box!

    Keep up the good work – you can do it!!!

    I look forward to the blog tomorrow 🙂

    jaymie

    Like

    Reply
  2. Chuffing Hog Post author

    From Mandi (via Facebook)

    “The ‘so far’ was directed more at me than you, Dave. Although I have never failed in the past, there is always a first time!”

    Like

    Reply
  3. Chuffing Hog Post author

    Hi Mandi,

    It’s not possible that you could fail. No way . You are the woman who started this whole thng and have done this before. I KNOW you won’t weaken.

    Cheers
    Dave

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

