Day 40 – Bread And Cheese

Hang on a minute. Wasn’t Lent supposed to be 40 days and 40 nights? If this is my 40th day of abstinence from cake, sweets, biscuits and chocolate, how come it is a Monday and doesn’t fall on any significant day within the Easter story.

Anyway, I am very proud that I am doing so well and finding the willpower from somewhere. I didn’t have any of the really nice looking biscuits that Jo had on the table all day today and didn’t actually want one. 

I did get stuck into her warm home-made bread with cheese at lunchtime, though.

I have yet to decide what to do when we reach Easter. Do I continue on my self-imposed “giving up” regime or do I relax it slightly. I will certainly not go mad and plunge into an orgy of chocolate, but I might allow myself the odd treat.

I have also to decide how often I am going to update this blog after Easter. As you will see from the blog calendar over on the right hand side of the page, before this Lent-inspired blogfest, I didn’t find something to write every single day. But as I started “giving up”, I decided that I wanted to record my experience day by day on here, and I have also managed to persevere at this.

Anyway, that’s enough planning ahead for one evening. If I’m not careful I’ll reach a decision, and that would never do.

Ride Safe
Dave

Leave a Reply

