Happy Birthday Mum

How did you spend the evening of Easter Monday? I bet you weren’t singing songs from the 1920s through to the 1950s, but that’s exactly what we did this evening in the company of my mum and my mother in law.

Today is my mum’s birthday, so we invited both the mothers round for a meal of Homity Pie followed by Pavlova.

After dinner we sat round and somehow the conversation came round to the words of Stanley Holloway’s famous “Lion and Albert”.  I remembered that I had this on CD, so went to find it and played it, followed by other tracks from the compilation CD of other comic songs of a similar vintage.

We the moved on to songs that I remember from my own childhood, things I used to hear on Children’s Favourites on the wireless – long before the days of radio.

Although I really enjoyed this evening, it was a timely reminder that nostalgia isn’t what it used to be.

Ride Safe
Dave

Leave a Reply

